When the main character actually thinks… “Hush” (2016)

directed by Mike Flanagan
© 2016 Netflix. All Rights Reserved.

Don’t you just hate all those horror characters that are completely dumb? I mean, let’s say you know that someone got into your house. What do you do? Hide? Try to escape before they find you? Or maybe scream 5 times “Hello, is anybody here?”. Seriously, can you imagine a murderer replying to that? “Good evening Susan, I’m downstairs, please, don’t bother getting down, I will see you upstairs in 10 seconds. Hope you don’t mind me killing you with a knife, do you?”. That’s why most horrors are horrible. Not because they are not scary, but because you get annoyed with the main characters in the first few minutes of the film. That’s why I enjoyed today’s horror/thriller. Because that woman was thinking. So little is needed! Anyway, the concept is even better, so let me tell you a bit what the story is about. The main character is Maddie (Kate Siegel – that’s our thinking lady, yes!). She’s a writer living alone in the woods. One day some stranger in a mask appears at her window. Sounds like a typical horror? Here’s the thing, Maddie is deaf and mute. And the guy in the mask is not that stupid either. Normally, in horrors, if you think well, you may be even on a wheelchair and you will manage to escape because the scary creature is always a total idiot. This time, both sides use their brains, but, unfortunately, only one can use their ears and it’s not our lovely protagonist. I was excited about this film after reading the description and, despite the fact that it’s quite simple and short, I couldn’t wait to find out how it’ll end. Perhaps the ending isn’t that satisfying as I wished, but the general story makes you tremble a bit.

My rating: 6/10
S.

Leave a comment