Alabama + Monroe. “The Broken Circle Breakdown” (2012)

directed by Felix Van Groeningen
© 2012 Kinepolis Film Distribution. All Rights Reserved.

I was surprised that I liked this film so much. And I was even more surprised to see that the same director committed “Beautiful Boy” (2018). I didn’t write any post about that second film because unfortunately it’s a 4/10 for me. A horrible script and unreasonable cast. As long as I adore Steve Carell, I couldn’t take him seriously in that role. And, unlike most of you probably, I can’t understand the phenomenon of Timothée Chalamet… I’m sorry, this guy cannot wake up any emotions in me. Except irritation I guess. Anyway, I had huge expectations before watching “Beautiful Boy” and I finished with a frown on my face. And it’s fascinating that after “The Broken Circle Breakdown” I said “oh damn” at loud and noted 9/10. That’s why even if I hate some director with my whole heart, I still give them a try from time to time and watch other productions. Because I may find such treasure as today’s film. It’s about a couple that need to struggle with their daughter’s cancer. The rest cannot be really described. It’s a heartbreaking story in which two different individuals try to accept their horrible situation. Each needs to do it in their own way but, on the other hand, they are together and try to fight for their relationship. It’s all about love. Love to one’s passion, to another person, to one’s child and to life. I don’t know what made me stare at the screen more. The script, the acting or the camera work. Because they were all fantastic and if you want to see how to make dramas, that’s the right piece of art to check out. For me the most powerful message I got at the end is that despite differences, we all suffer equally. And even if we seem fine, it’s nothing like that inside. Mr Van Groeningen, “Beautiful Boy” is forgiven.

My rating: 9/10
S.

Leave a comment