Darling, could you like chill for a sec? “Freaky Friday” (2003)

directed by Mark Waters
© 2003 Buena Vista Pictures. All Rights Reserved.

I’m aware of the fact it’s Monday today, but this film, despite having Friday in its title, is perfect for every evening of the week. I can’t even count how many times I’ve seen it because it’s one of my guilty pleasure productions and whenever I’m feeling blue, “Freaky Friday” is there to cheer me up. It’s about a mother-daughter relationship, which often gets quite emotional. Tess (Jamie Lee Curtis) is a mother and a widow who’s soon about to marry Ryan (Mark Harmon), her new partner. The woman is a respected and highly qualified therapist and, even though she’s helped many people, it seems like she cannot really manage the relationship between her and Anna, her daughter. Anna (Lindsay Lohan) is a teenage rebel who spends way too much time in detention or in the garage playing music with her band. One day, they all go for a family dinner to a Chinese restaurant and the two ladies have an argument there. The owner’s mother decides to step in and gives Tess and Anna cookies with the same fortune. They don’t take it anyhow seriously until the next morning when they wake up… in different bodies. From now on Anna is trapped in Tess’ body and the other way round. And to make it even more complicated, this day Anna has an important audition with her band and Tess has her wedding rehearsal. They are both horribly panicked, but they need to learn how to cooperate and communicate not to screw everything up. First, I’m a huge fan of Jamie Lee Curtis, so seeing her acting like a rebellious high-schooler is just priceless. But let’s not forget about Lindsay Lohan who, in my opinion, shines bright in this role as well. I honestly believed both ladies that they are not themselves, which is difficult for actors to achieve, especially since it’s an abstract situation. Second, it’s a really good comedy, with jokes that don’t make you close your eyes and take a deep breath thinking “oh come on” – and that’s quite common for comedies, let’s face it. Third, I love how they managed to present the importance of quality communication between a parent and a child in such pleasant and non-dramatic way. I’m always seriously moved when the ladies finally compromise and have an honest conversation (don’t take it as a spoiler, we all know how such films end). And let’s not forget about Pink Slip, Anna’s band, and their absolute hit “Take Me Away” that they play during the audition. I mean, if you’re a millennial, there’s no way you don’t shake your head hearing it. So to sum up, if Monday is treating you badly, or if any day of the week treats you badly, remember that “Freaky Friday” is here to give you a big cinematographic hug. Besides, who wouldn’t like to see Chad Michael Murray belting out “Baby One More Time” completely out of tune? Don’t look at me, I’m totally in.

My rating: 8/10
S.

Leave a comment