It’s time for me to disappear in a puff of smoke. “Magic Camp” (2020)

directed by Mark Waters
© 2020 Disney+. All Rights Reserved.

Not that long time ago I started my little adventure with Disney+ and except feeling constant nostalgia watching old animations, I sometimes end up watching some random productions there. One day, I spotted “Magic Camp” and I guess I was having a rather overwhelming day because I thought that’s a film I could stand that day. It had the word “magic” in the title and Adam DeVine in the cast, which immediately put me in a good mood. So, Adam plays Andy – a young adult who’s a talented magician, but whose career path has switched a little bit. He gets an invitation to become a counsellor during the upcoming magic camp for children. There, Andy meets his huge rival and crush (oh, what a coincidence), Kristina (Gillian Jacobs), who, unlike Andy, has succeeded as a magic performer. Anyway, they are not there to fight or… do other things, they are there to teach and train little magicians, one of whom is Theo (Nathaniel McIntyre), a very motivated boy coping with a recent life tragedy. Maybe it all sounds a bit complex and dramatic, but in fact it isn’t that much. It’s actually a very relaxing comedy, which may bring you some magic to your life. Personally, when I was little, I was a huge fan of magic and magic-like things. It was my dream to become a powerful magician who could fly, do magic tricks and hide under a cloak of invisibility. Then reality hit me and I realised that the biggest magic of our time is paying bills and having a full fridge. However, getting back to this world of magic was really pleasant for me and I honestly had fun watching the film. I recommend you to see it no matter how old you are and if you have children – then definitely organise a family movie night with them. Perhaps I’m wrong, but I feel like we’ve forgotten about magic in films. We do have a lot of fantasy and sci-fi productions, but where’s magic? Did it finish together with Harry Potter series? I hope not, because I believe that with the use of magic, even this abstract concept of it, we may learn a lot and teach the youngest about important values. So remember to check this film out and get back to the world of magic for a short moment.

My rating: 6/10
S.

Leave a comment