A story of a monster. “Dirty God” (2019)

directed by Sacha Polak
© 2019 Modern Films. All Rights Reserved.

I’ve heard about this film by accident. I must say I got intrigued after reading the title. Thought it’s some comedy about God being a naughty person. Or about God who likes extreme sports and… ends up… dirty… after doing them… Okay, don’t judge my imagination. Anyway, this film isn’t about God and it’s definitely not a comedy, so if you’re looking for something to laugh at, keep scrolling. The main character is Jade (Vicky Knight) whom we meet at the very beginning of the film. Unfortunately, not in pleasant circumstances. The woman returns from the hospital after a treatment. Surprisingly, she didn’t break a leg or have a car accident. The father of her little daughter poured acid on her face when those two decided to break up. Jade tries to move on with her life. She wants to do a plastic surgery to cover her burnt face, but she doesn’t have money for that. All she has is her little daughter Rae (Eliza Brady-Girard) and a job in call centre. And what would you do if you were her? Imagine you’re a young woman with a child. Your face looks like Freddy Krueger’s with make-up. You don’t have much money. You don’t receive much support from others. You’re not very lucky with love because of how your body looks like after the accident. What do you do? Perhaps I liked this film because I actually imagined myself in this case. And I had absolutely no idea what I would do. I would probably cry a lot and then search for some support group. But not Jade. She is young, willing to enjoy life, but also a smart woman who can take care of herself. A very realistic film that made me feel strange, but at the same time quite motivated. Maybe it will inspire you as well.

My rating: 6/10
S.

Leave a comment