Actually, don’t tell me about it. “Good Old Friends” (2020)

directed by Peter Kondra & Mikael Schallock
© 2020 Indie Rights. All Rights Reserved.

This review will be a bit different than my usual reviews because I believe it would be best if you… didn’t read it. In fact, I highly recommend you not to read anything about this film, not even short descriptions. You know how people often complain that trailers spoil films? I think that in this case anything might spoil it. So if you trust me and don’t want to make the same mistake I made, please search for this film and see it. However, if you want to risk destroying your potentially better experience, then continue reading. But I’ve warned you. Today’s film is about three friends reuniting after some years in Berlin. Pete (Peter Kondra), Marc (Andrej Vickers) and Mike (Mikael Schallock) decide to spend a night drinking, discussing their lives and simply having fun all together. Unfortunately, at some point one of them gets killed and the two others have to manage the situation, which isn’t easy as they’re both drunk and on drugs. And if you’re one of those rebels who didn’t stop reading my review at the beginning, let me explain why I warned you. Before watching this film I’d known that one of them dies at some point and I was naturally waiting for that moment as I believed that’s when the main action starts. So I was watching, and watching, and watching, and that moment wasn’t coming. Surprisingly, it happens in the middle of the film, which in my opinion was way too late. I spent about 40 minutes watching the introduction, listening to three men talking random things about their lives, swearing a lot, drinking and choosing drugs to take. Oh what fun, right? So I have to admit, I was a bit confused and through the second half of the film I was just hoping to understand this unusual script. And I guess it hit me at the end – the death of that man isn’t a plot twist that begins the main action. For those who might not be aware of this common template of writing scripts, a classic script should have at least two plot twists, one rather at the beginning, which ends the introduction and starts the main action, and then one at the end (preferably stronger one) almost at the end. Maybe it’s just my opinion, but in this film I saw only one strong plot twist and it was right in the middle. So from the beginning we’re slowly going up with the pace, up, up, bang – plot twist happens, and then we’re slowly going down, down, down. And I believe that if I hadn’t known about the death of that man before watching, I would have enjoyed this film way more. Because at some point you start feeling like you’re on drugs by only watching them and even if they are just chatting in the car, you’re focused on them deeply. So dear rebel, if you’ve just read my review, try not to wait for that plot twist, just relax and go with the flow. This film is different and that’s its charm. Last two things I have to appreciate are the camerawork, which was extremely satisfying in my opinion, and the references to “The Room”. I’m glad there are filmmakers who look up to the best.

P.S. You may see the full film for free and legally on Youtube right here. Enjoy!

My rating: 6.5/10
S.

Leave a comment