What year is it? “Jumanji” (1995)

directed by Joe Johnston
© 1995 TriStar Pictures. All Rights Reserved.

This film is very special for me. I saw it several times when I was a child. It’s much better than most cartoons I remember. The whole story is very entertaining, but for me back then, it was also creepy as hell. But first let me introduce you it. The main character is Alan Parrish (Adam Hann-Byrd, later Robin Williams). He is a boy that doesn’t really have many friends. He’s often bullied, which leaves him being a loner. One day he hears strange drumbeats and decides to follow them. They lead him to a box with a board game called “Jumanji.” Later, when he’s at home, his one (and probably only) friend Sarah Whittle (Laura Bell Bundy, later Bonnie Hunt) visits him and the children try to play the recently found game. Unfortunately, it’s not Monopoly or chess. This game is more… “interactive.” At some point Alan rolls the dice and the game literally sucks him inside. Yes, you’re reading correctly. Sarah runs away totally panicked and then we move with the story 26 years later. We meet two other children, Judy and Peter Shepherd (Kirsten Dunst and Bradley Pierce). Together with their aunt they’re moving into the house that used to be Alan’s home. The siblings find the game at the attic and roll the dice. And from this moment they are forced to finish it or they will be cursed… forever. But to finish it, they need all the players that have started this particular gameplay, including Sarah and Alan. Doom doom doom! Absolutely amazing! I recently rewatched it again and I was still afraid of the hunter (thank you Jonathan Hyde for this trauma, I bet it was because of that moustache). You will see a lot of weird stuff happening in this film, but somehow I was always scared of a human the most. Wasn’t I a smart kiddo? Anyway, no matter if you’re a child or an adult, this film is marvellous and I’m sure I will keep rewatching it in the future. Also, if you’re a fan of memes (who isn’t these days?), perhaps you know the meme with unshaved Robin Williams saying “What year is it?” – it’s actually a scene from this film. Not sure if it encourages you more to see it, but if it does, I’m thrilled.

My rating: 8/10
S.

Leave a comment